Mourning and Chronic Pain

Mourning or ‘letting go’ of the ‘way one was’ versus the ‘way one is’ is a  critical step to work through to reduce chronic pain. We can’t change why we are given life challenges although we can certainly learn from them. 

    The physician and author, Elizabeth Kubler Ross, M.D.,  identified stages of grief that are still referenced by professionals today to help people come to accept loss and change rather than be fixated in denial or sustained sadness. 

Even the management systens author, William Bridges, in his book entitled, “Transitions”, identified three sequential stages for people coming to terms with career or management changes. These included loss, transition, and new beginnings. One can’t move on unless one let’s go.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s